Philippine National Flag Symbol, is it significant?

Philippine flag is a horizontal flag bicolor with equal bands of royal blue and crimson red, with a white, equilateral triangle at the hoist. In the center of the triangle is a golden-yellow sun with eight primary rays, each representing a Philippine province. At each vertex of the triangle is a five-pointed, golden-yellow star, each of which representing one of the country’s three main island groups which is Luzon, Visayas (though originally referring to Panay) and Mindanao.

Flag symbolism. The Philippine national flag has a rectangular design that consists of a white equilateral triangle, symbolizing liberty, equality and fraternity; a horizontal blue stripe for peace, truth, and justice; and a horizontal red stripe for patriotism and valor. In the center of the white triangle is an eight-rayed golden sun symbolizing unity, freedom, people’s democracy, and sovereignty. Each ray represents a province with significant involvement in the 1896 Philippine Revolution against Spain; these provinces are Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Pampanga, Bataan, Laguna, Batangas and Nueva Ecija (some sources specify other provinces as alternatives to some of these.

Please subscribe and like us in our youtube channel!

Please follow and like us on facebook!

PhilFlag, FlagSymbol, #ophirph